Penguin Droppings

By gen2

All Shook Up (Elvis)


or Good Vibrations (Beach Boys)

Both came to mind when I saw this, though secretly, I think someone forgot to switch their vibrator off before going in the water ;-)


This mute swan was rather distant and drifting further away all the time while it was preening. I was waiting for it to finish because almost all water-birds have the same routine of ending their ablutions by standing up in the water, stretching and flapping their wings two or three times.Well, nearly twenty minutes later it did just that but as luck would have it, it was too distant and facing away from me.

Just before I left, there was some excitement in the skies as three birds of prey were wheeling around and calling from time to time. Suddenly, two of them locked talons and spun round as they dropped from view. All this was very distant but I was able to get one image clear enough to confirm it was a buzzard. Pity it didn't happen closer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.