Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Lesser Redpoll (female) Carduelis cabaret

Apologies for the poor quality of today's blip but I rarely see one of these birds.

This is another bird which has had a change of name. According to my (old) bird guide, it is Acanthis flammea, but that has now been split into two distinct species - the 'lesser redpoll' and the 'mealy redpoll' and each given a new name so this is now Carduelis cabaret

I am hoping that I have got the ID correct. The only possible alternative is a linnet, but only the male linnet has a red poll and he also has a blush of red on his breast.
Both male and female redpolls have a red poll and the male again has a blush of red on his breast, but the female is like the photo.
Redpolls have black patch under their bill. Not sure about my photo - could just be shadow?
Redpolls have a light band across their wing (as here).
This bird was feeding from old willowherb seedheads - a known food source of redpolls.

On balance, I am going to declare this as a female redpoll - unless of course, one of you knows otherwise.


Thank you all for your positive response to my yesterday's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.