Sometimes I have to pinch myself

It’s been a year since our last gig.  March 12th 2020; who’d have thought it?

I’ve played very little in the past year.  I started off with good intentions, recording and sending sound files to my friend Neil, but as the year dragged on it became more and more difficult to maintain the momentum.  I know I’m not the only one.  Tim, our bass player, has not touched his instrument since that last gig.  

But ….. 

Anniemay is downstairs taking part in an on-line Yoga class with her sister.  Her sister is in Warrington, the class is in India. Wonders never cease.

I pick up my guitar and try a few tentative chords.  My fingers are stiff and the pads, soft.  And my nails need trimming.  I hate to think what Tim’s are like.

As I play I gaze out of the window.  The sun is shining and I’m distracted by a skein of geese making their way across the sky.  A few moments later a Kite comes into view above the rooftops in the distance.  The swooping and turning are unmistakable.

I have to stop and blip this; not the bird - it’s long gone.  But the memory hasn’t.

I’m very lucky to live here.

My phone pings and it’s Neil.  Do I fancy a walk next week?  And maybe a get together with the others (outside) at the end of the month?  

Why not?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.