Igor

By Igor

Lovingly Remembered

Lovingly Remembered

The babies who were born asleep
and buried in the vicinity of this memorial
when the approach to this sad event differed
from the views which society holds today

May they always rest in peace
in this tranquil area

(Extra is probably easier to read)

I’m always drawn to this quiet spot in the graveyard, partly because the inscription has puzzled me.

I didn’t know until today that it was only in the 1980s that the practice of taking away a still born baby from its mother and burying or cremating the child in an undisclosed place - and thereby preventing the parents from marking the child’s passing - was phased out in this country.

I am really shocked by this.

It made me think about children around the world who have suffered because of disease or some despot and are lying in an unmarked place.  They too, should be remembered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.