That's Mother's Day sorted :-))

What!!??!!! Mum loves purple sprouting broccoli. Grown with love & tlc, freshly picked from the plot this morning, gathered into a bouquet & tied with pretty contrasting lime green ribbon. I love purple & lime green together.  I was going to add leeks but they spoiled the design. There again I might just be steaming them to go with the salmon fish cakes & cauliflower wings I'm making for dinner tonight. Not made the cauli wings before but the recipe ingredients sound tasty, & I love cauli.
It's been a bit of a faffing day today. An early visit to the plot with veggie peelings for the compost heap, I backfilled the 3 steps I started constructing last week up onto the hedge (Devon bank). My new allotment neighbour has removed the paving slab holding the water tank lid in place to use on her plot. No idea where the lid is. I'll leave her to find it, perhaps she will then realize why it was where it was. The newly constructed bed that I added compost to last week has been visited by a cat. GRHHHHH! I removed the poo, then covered it with permeable fabric held in place with plenty of bricks. The wind is still gusting. I'd forgotten to secure the door to one of the sheds so that was wide open, the floor saturated, but no other harm done. I brought back some of the plastic wholesale strawberry punnets that a friend saved for me last year. They make brilliant mini greenhouses in my greenhouse. They need covers due to the mice who visit. I can't kill them, so need to be ingenious :-) My next job this afternoon is to arrange my seed stash into alphabetical order & write a calendar sowing plan.

Thanks to Anni/BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.