Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Cheerful

Thanks for all the good wishes for yesterday. Much of today was spent waiting for news. There was no mobile signal from Pete's ward, so communication was almost non-existent. 

Chris and Lizzy popped over in the afternoon to deliver a beautiful bunch of flowers - my image is one of the orange Gerbera blooms - very cheerful! 

About an hour later Pete rang to let me know he was being discharged - multiple blood tests, X-rays, an ECG and a night spent on a heart monitor had failed to reveal any cardio-vascular issues so the doctors concluded that the numbness must have had a musculo-skeletal origin. This fits with my first thought that it could have been caused by a trapped nerve in his neck.

So now he's safely home after his first ever stay in hospital, and is vowing never to go back, despite all the medical staff being lovely! I can understand where he's coming from - I've been in hospital three times (one appendicitis and for the birth of my two elder sons) and couldn't wait to get home on each occasion. My third son was born at home - far less stressful and required virtually no recovery time!

But I'm still immensely grateful that the NHS was there to ensure that his symptoms didn't have a more sinister cause, especially when they're so pressured. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.