Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Hairy Violet

After a fairly stressful couple of days, I recovered by taking a long, slow walk round Old Sulehay, during which we had strong March winds, bright sunshine and several April showers. After being buffeted around the open quarry, the shelter of the wood was a welcome respite. But as I reached the southern end  of the main ride, the wind dropped completely, giving rise to an eerie silence. And then there was a roar like an approaching train and hail slammed down from the heavens. I sheltered as best I could but fortunately the storm didn't last too long, though afterwards the blustery wind resumed, making some of the ash and sycamore trees creak alarmingly.

Spring seems to be creeping in slowly here in the east, though I found three species of violet in flower today, including the first Hairy Violets of the year on a sheltered south-facing bank. But there was only one Wood Anemone out, and the Goat Willow is only just at the bud-burst stage. I heard a reasonable number of birds singing, including a Mistle Thrush, who was living up to its alternative name of Storm Cock. But the highlight was a huge flock of Linnets on the wood edge, chattering in the tops of the Ash trees.

Late this afternoon I drove to a local chemists to have my first Covid-19 vaccination. The whole process was very smooth and so far I only have a bit of a sore arm. This evening I lit a candle for Sarah Everard. Like most women, I've experienced my share of minor sexual harassment - when I grew up it was just an accepted part of being a young woman. But we should know better now, and it is absolutely wrong that most women still feel unsafe alone in public places. I was horrified to see the way the Metropolitan Police treated the women who gathered for a peaceful vigil at Clapham Common - can they not see that their attitudes are a major part of the problem?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.