A Bit of History

We had a bit of a stroll this morning and I came across this bottle with an old ebonite screw top. The condition isn't great but it would have been some sort of beer or pop in the bottle and the makers name on the top is Wm Hodgkinson Ltd, Fleetwood. The bottle top probably dates from before 1930. The bottle it was screwed into was 'Clinning & sons Ltd, Blackpool' who were mineral water manufacturers based on Coleridge Road, Blackpool. It would seem that the pair don't go together but they both have a bit of history.

Further along the walk we came across the top set of a pair of false teeth which almost got blipped but I wasn't as successful finding out about their history!

Managed an hour on the bike this afternoon, covered almost 13 miles, not too bad on my fat knobbly tyres and with a couple of rough tracks negotiated as well, when I was on the road I was giving it some and thought I was doing OK. Puts it into perspective when you think that I was just a little slower than the world record runners do a half marathon!!

Oh yes, almost forgot, I mowed the lawn, first time in 2013, it does look better for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.