Pictastic

By Pictastic

Picture framed

One of the unexpected benefits of blipping for me has been finding out more about the objects in my photos!

I took a walk along the river today and stopped in front of this stone sculpture which was looking lovely in the sunlight. Realised I’ve often been here but never found out what the frame sculpture represents - until today!

Apparently this is ‘Millais Viewpoint’ by Tim Shutter, in memory of the painter John Everett Millais who lived here in 1855. The cut corners refer to ‘immortality’ which is interesting to me in light of my mum’s health emergency this week. And Millais painted several notable works including ‘Ophelia’ (now in the Tate) and ‘Bubbles’ which became famous in the Pears soap ads. So now we know...:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.