A productive Saturday

I've enjoyed today. We didn't go out, but had already planned a bit of baking, to replace our regular takeaway coffee and cakes in Cromer.

We spend most of the week planning what we are going to eat either in the week, or at the weekend when we relax a bit ( we'll, a lot actually). Since Jon, Mollie and I started dieting after Christmas, food has pretty much been all we think about! The diets are going, but not that well. I find it impossible to be good at the weekend, and when I shop on a Thursday, so much chocolate jumps into my trolley. In fact we really only diet Monday to Thursday. Friday to Sunday we eat lots. So this morning Mollie made this Victoria sponge, and I made some Viennese fingers. That was hilarious as I made a piping bag out of greaseproof paper, but no way was the mixture ever going to pipe. It was solid. We all had a laugh as I tried. I gave up and rolled out sausages of dough. They still tasted delicious.

Jon and I dodged the rain and did some weeding and digging in the garden. Then we sorted out the bird box camera, and are hoping some blue tits will choose to use it again this year. There was an old nest which Jon removed. I did a bit of sorting in my shed - more of that tomorrow. The nicest bit of today was doing things together, and being able to chat as we dug, making plans. I think we need a new fence. Not the most exciting plan, but something Jon can do at least.

Henry had a project of his own going on. Drill, saw and all sorts!

I dug out some of my earrings and wanted a way to mount them, to sell through 'hut STUFF'. I decided using some of my many vintage cigarette cards as a mount would be effective. I just need a craft fair now.

Jon and I made curry for dinner, and while they watched a film, I made a spreadsheet to record our electricity usage, as our bills seem so high. I looked up the last 16 months worth of readings and now have an idea of what we are using. I am hoping that the new boiler might be a little more economical than the last as it is brand new, but as we only have electricity, and now oil or gas, it is inevitable that our bill will be higher, as electricity is so much dearer. Hopefully the heating can go off in the house in April and we have our woodburner for the office, so that has to make a bit of difference to the bills!

Now looking for something funny to wind down to before bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.