In Praise of Deliberative Democracy

Just back from doing my ‘European’ Citizen Duty. Not quite right to call it this way. Let me explain. As a Dutch national with domicile in Germany, I have several voting rights, Dutch, German and European. The last one is not at the agenda now. So what about the first? Dutch parliament will be elected coming Wednesday the 17th. For this I participate by mail-voting
Secondly, as a European Citizen, living permanently in the land of Hessen, I have the right to vote for the election of my Town Council, my County Council and the Foreigner-Counsel of the County-Council. Three different electoral matters. But this is still quite simple.  Now it comes. For the Council of Bad Karlshafen I have 17(!) votes or All-in-One. For the Landkreis-Council I have 81(!) votes or All-in-One. Finally for the Foreigner-Counsel I have 11 votes.
Can you still follow me? Here we have the High Art of electoral Panaschieren or Variegate. You get an extra choice to vote on the basis of personal confidence. By cumulative distributing your up to 3 votes per Candidate over different political parties. Or you bring out your amount of votes on your Party of choice. This is your math, your paperwork, your counting control. Take your time. Be an involved democratic citizen.
Perhaps in your experience this is far too complex and boring. Why not One Man, One Vote, One Elected Representative.? Well, in a differentiated multi-party-system, Voters are invited to express their preferences in personal confidence and cross-party-cooperation. This can prevent political polarization and promote coalition-goverment on the non-state and on the non-federal level.
For those who live in states with two-party-systems, this seems complex and not transparent. But here we see how well deliberative democracy can be based on voter-experience and-confidence. We will see how this lower-level voting-system can work against powergrabbing by extremist, anti-democratic political forces. Because we need a peaceful and constructive future for our Countries, especially in Europe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.