Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Camborne Boatshed

Today is my last day in Wellington. I am due to sail back to the South Island and home this evening.
With Emily off to school and most of my packing done, Margaret and I headed out to Petone to buy blue cheese at the Dutch Shop....proper Dutch cheeses, yum. Then off to the British shop, "UK Goodies", to buy the real fair dinkum English Marmite for Keith. Very expensive it was too!
We then headed over Haywards Hill to the Pauatahanui Inlet and the Camborne Walkway. This walkway follows around the edge of the inlet and is popular for regular walkers and dog walkers. I said hello to every dog en route.
The Camborne Walkway is also well known for a collection of quaint little boatsheds along part of its shoreline.
These boatsheds have been there for many years and some certainly could do with a lick of paint. Others have been "done-up" and had decks replaced and other maintainence. Some are painted in lovely bright colours and have potted plants and other decorative touches to their decks and exterior walls.
The owners of the boatsheds are not allowed to actually live in them but, as I understand it, are allowed to stay over-night from time to time.
They provide great photographic material, however the light today was very disappointing for some decent images.
Margaret, Emily and others did this same walk recently. I asked Emily which boatshed she liked the best and it turned out to be the one I have chosen for my blip today....the purple one with butterflies on it. Purple...our favourite colour. Great minds think alike... :-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.