Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Goit

A site I’ve walked past scores of times, but never stepped off the path to explore before today, Buck Mill is a ruined old corn and wool mill complex between the south bank of the River Aire and the Leeds-Liverpool Canal at Thackley. 

Originally dating from the fourteenth century as a corn mill it was substantially expanded and redeveloped for wool in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. After being abandoned at some point before WW1, it was blown up in 1923. 

The site is mostly just a tangle of fallen masonry that’s been reclaimed by the woods but there are a few bits of wall still standing and also arched remnants of the old goit. Don’t worry, I didn’t go crawling in, I just reached in with my camera to get this image. I’ve added a couple of further shots in extras.

This was my post vaccination day. My arm and shoulder has been a bit sore and I seemed to wear myself out a bit - clambering around old mills was probably not what the doctor ordered - but nothing too bad so far.

And I bumped into a creature with an impressive lockdown haircut on my way back up the hill. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.