JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 73: Mending

I took some more tulip photos this morning, backlit by low sun through the window. The petals are opening and starting to fall, exposing the stamens, and I managed to position one of the variegated ones so that the interior was well illuminated. It's pretty, but I've posted a lot of tulips this week, and thought perhaps it was time for a change. I'm mending a rather tatty but cosy and useful jumper I've had for over twenty years; it's now relegated to gardening and pottering round the house, but that's all I've been doing for the past year, so it seemed worth the effort. I found some wool which is a remarkably close match, did my best to match tension, and picked up stitches to knit a patch which will cover a ragged hole and the surrounding thin area. I've always mended: the idea that resources should be cared for and used for as long as possible was ingrained in me by my parents, who grew up in wartime and in homes where money was always tight. I'm glad to see visible mending now being valued by those who care about sustainability and right use of resources.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.