Ardastra Gardens and Zoo

In doing my research, I decided that this was where I wanted to go when the ship stopped in Nassau. I was pleasantly surprised that the enclosures for the animals were large and beautifully appointed. Most of the animals are birds, although they had some reptiles, large cats, and even some Capybaras - the world's largest rodent. Bob was most intrigued by the bird who said "hello" and another bird who said "meow."

Next stop was Fort Charlotte. An interesting place to explore on such a beautiful day. The most memorable sight for me were the underground rooms carved out of stone by slaves. You can see the scalloping on the walls and especially on the ceilings from the hand tools slaves used to carve the stone. What a sobering sight.

FYI - The #10 bus at George Street and East Bay Street in Nassau will take you there cheaply ($6.50 round trip for us). There is an entry fee at Port Charlotte despite what my website link says - it is $5 for adults. We did not stay for the Flamingo show at Ardastra - but I hear it is great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.