Lichen and polution?

I wonder:-
1. Which variety it is, as regards air-pollution around our house?
"If air is very badly polluted with sulphur dioxide there may be no lichens present, just green algae may be found.  If the air is clean, shrubby, hairy and leafy lichens become abundant.  A few lichen species can tolerate quite high levels of pollution and are commonly found on pavements, walls and tree bark in urban areas.  The most sensitive lichens are shrubby and leafy while the most tolerant lichens are all crusty in appearance. "
I suspect it'll be one of the more tolerant varieties.

2. IF you could have guessed where I found it?
I was prowling on one of my periodic wander and click excursions when I spotted it growing on the sealant around the car front window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.