Seedheads

This morning F and I went to the canal at Queen's Head for a walk.  We went into the nature reserve and a pair of swans were on the water , the first time I've seen them there. They could be the ones from the reserve further along the canal.

F got talking to a fisherman and he'd had several sightings of otters there, one with cubs. I've been going to the canal there for over 30 years and never seen one.  He was there at 4.00am though which we certainly wouldn't do!

There were lots of bullrush seedheads there and I liked it's shape as it was losing the seeds. The top part looks like a lady's furry winter hat and the bottom part her coat. The umbellifer seedheads made good seedcatchers too.

Update on the lambs from Friday's blip.  They had all been in the barn for a couple of days due to the bad weather so I hadn't seen them.  I had a look today as it's been dry and milder.  Mum was there with three lambs!  I assume that they're all hers but she could have adopted an orphan to add to her family.  I'll ask the farmer if I see him around. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.