CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Tulip 'Exotic Emperor', flowering again, in 2021

These tulips have just opened in the same large pot as the daffodils and the little Iris reticulata which I blipped earlier this year. They were all planted in the pot two years ago by a colleague from whom I bought the collection. There are two further bulb types which are yet to flower.

Chris planted them to flower in a timely sequence and they have done so brilliantly. I had thought I would repot the bulbs to give them extra space and new compost, but somehow last year I forgot to do so. I will do so this year.

Today the sun was shining and the temperature was warmer. I stood in the back door and grabbed a couple of pictures of which this is my choice for today’s blip. They seem to be flowering a couple of weeks earlier than last year.

April hail showering on the Tulip 'Exotic Emperor' – in 2019

Tulip 'Exotic Emperor' with flower unfurled – in 2020

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.