Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Polesden Lacey

This morning I was meant to meet a friend at Polesden Lacey for a dog walk but she was unable to come, and as I had made a booking for two  Gavin was able to join me instead. It was a dull day but dry, and we had a good walk around the estate with Xena before getting take away coffees (not the best coffee, I could not drink mine). The lack of sunshine was good for taking photos of the daffodils that were out, as usually in the sunshine it is very hard to avoid white spots on the petals when photographing them. 

Last night I did not attend my camera club zoom meeting as in the late afternoon I had a headache again and felt a bit nauseous - day 6 after the vaccine, surely I could not still be suffering from the side effects?

Gavin's brother phoned from Canada last night, and while Canada has pre-ordered the most vaccines out of all the countries they have barely started their vaccination program as they have a problem distributing it and he does not know when he will be getting vaccinated. If you click on this article from The Telegraph you can see the table comparing which vaccines have been bought by which country. In the UK the distribution of the vaccines to the various centres has been very efficient as the army were called in to help with the logistics of getting the vaccines across the country. Europe still cannot get their vaccine program going efficiently and keep suspending the use of the Oxford/AZ vaccine - is it just political as the WHO say there is no problem with that vaccine? Who knows, maybe in time there will be disturbing facts revealed about the vaccines. I still think it is far better than actually getting Covid.

This afternoon I had a zoom call with Rosemary my mentor at the camera club and one of the other new members - as Rosemary is the chair of SPA judges committee we discussed how judges think, or rather, how they should think when judging images! It was exciting to think our next meeting can actually be in person but outdoors, when the rule of six is allowed again (from 29th March up to six people or two households we will be allowed outdoors).

I watched the finale of Bloodlands on BBC1 last night - I had to google the ending to make sure I knew what was going on, did anyone else also find the plot a bit confusing? And there is going to be a second season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.