LD 358. “Gin I speak wi the tung”

This picture is the result of a diversion. 

The main staff and member entrance to the Parliament has been closed all day, and we have been using the way in and out via Queensberry  House which is the 17th century listed building that forms part of the Holyrood complex. 

The gates of the courtyard are very rarely open, which is a pity because the words - in Scots from the Lorimer translation of the New Testament at 1 Corinthians 13 - were always intended to be an inspiring thought for all the MSPs who walked over them on their way to and from work.   I was on the group which chose them and wanted them here (coming on for 20 years ago) so it is a pity they never got used in the way intended.

I know I have blipped them before  but tonight they looked particularly fine in their setting and I am glad the happenstance of a closed entrance  let me see this part of the campus  again , set off so well in the darkness of early evening - and for probably the last time as a member of the Scottish Parliament. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.