Scrawny Old Man

By richtoller

The boss

I'm back from Ghana and just beginning to catch up - on sleep, emails, blips - sometime soon I'll have to begin to catch up on work, but running will be the next thing. Not much chance there - too hot, though I did get some runs in the first week by going out between 6 & 6.30am.
I'm feeling the cold now - Ghana was hotter than usual, and that's hot! And very dry and dusty.
Day 1 (my previous blip): a loooong day's travelling.
Day 2 (this one): took as long getting from Accra to Kumasi (174 miles) by bus than it did getting from Amsterdam to Accra. The bus was fine, so was the road most of the way (don't ask about the bit that wasn't) - it's the traffic in Accra and Kumasi.
My hosts Daniel and Rhoda met me and took me home to Offinso (20-odd miles on good road - 2 hours) where Daniel is Pastor of Maranatha Assemblies of God Church. They feed me but I sleep at the Disabled Centre 2 miles away - more of that later.
Took one photo - of my hosts' granddaughter who is staying with them and going to their church school. Yes, she's 21 months old - the school starts with nursery, but even then she's a lot younger than most of the nursery kids.
Her Christian name is Rhoda (after her gran) but she's usually known by her Ghanaian name Akua - it's a day of the week name , for the day she was born (Wednesday). Spellings vary, don't know if I've got it right, hope I'm not talking rubbish because I misheard!
She has a tee-shirt emblazoned with the words 'I MAY BE SMALL BUT I'M THE BOSS'.
It's true.

Tomorrow I spoke (who said this had to make sense?) at a seminar for Daniel's church, and took one more photo - the boss again, but an even worse photo than this one.
The day after tomorrow is my next blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.