Thinking of Ireland

Dear Diary,

It’s St. Patrick’s Day and I am thinking about all my trips to the Emerald Isle over the past 14 years.  Of all the photographs I’ve made during the 5 trips, I think this may be one of my favorites.  It is from Inis Meain in the Aran Islands.  It is the least visited of the three islands and maybe that’s why it is less commercialized and why I love it.  I visited the cottage of Irish writer John Millington Synge while I was there.   He wrote, "Of the things which nourish the imagination, humour is one of the most needful, and it is dangerous to limit or destroy it."  I would agree and the Irish have a wonderful sense of humor.  For the second year in a row there will be no big parades to celebrate the day but I will celebrate by revisiting this magical place through my photographs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.