Oak

I was still feeling the after-effects of Saturday's Covid jab so mostly had a quiet day working at a few relatively mindless tasks on the computer. By late afternoon I was sick of the sight of the screen so decided to take a couple of turns round Thorpe Wood. There were plenty of creamy-yellow Primroses and the first Wood Anemones were emerging, but the only leaves visible were those of Midland Hawthorn, which is always ahead of the rest.

On my second circuit it was quite dark, but somehow the conditions brought out the amazing gnarled shapes of some of the oaks. I took a series of images, including some double exposures, and then experimented with different ways of processing them. I found that this technique emphasised the complex shapes that had captured my attention.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.