Cross-Country

Went for a nice long walk with Laura through the fields of Morven Park and happened upon a high school cross-county meet. We also happened upon one of the moms who was there and who turned out to be a friend we hadn't seen in a year. Glad she recognized us...I never would have recognized her with long hair and a mask. 

A scrumptious St. Patrick's Day dinner - slow-cooked corned beef and lots of veggies. These lines were heard at the table:

me: This was supposed to be cooked in Guinness beer. [teens exchange glances] I didn't have time to get any, though, so I used Dr. Pepper.

D: No you didn't.

me [thinking]: I really did but it sounds weird, so I won't force the issue.

D: Who are the two US senators named Tammy?

me: I don't know.

D: Tammy Duckworth and Tammy Baldwin. Who are the two senators who most love beef?

me: Wait wait don't tell me....

D: Chuck Grassley and Angus King.

all: aargh.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.