About to turn

By jMcLean

Blooming in place

This little violet surprised me, just over the edge of the front step - a happy sight.

The four of us were again at home today, though W. will go into the office tomorrow. I did have a doctor's appointment, at which an x-ray revealed osteoarthritis in my neck. I suspected as much, as it's bothered me for several months and my mother's coped with it for years. Got some steroid medication to calm things down.

Son D. had his last in-person guitar lesson tonight; starting next week, both kids will have their music lessons over Zoom. Not much has been put in place by the schools for remote learning, except for I's math class which has plugged away with online discussion and homework. It surprises me that they aren't farther along with starting lessons - the kids and teachers in our county are well used to receiving and turning in assignments online.

I did a bit of writing today, kept people fed, browsed a garden center in solitude (looking for a tree for the back yard), found a gallon of milk and the last tube of toothpaste, and spent a nice hour outside weeding and being scolded by chickadees.

Update: an extra of our nighttime visitor, who posed for me through the window. I was going out to take down the bird feeders, because of this fellow who usually visits loudly at 5am, and found that the crafty guy had beaten me to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.