... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

One New Change: St Paul's & Reflections

I went into town to meet my mother and a family friend for lunch at One New Change (Shopping Centre/Office Building/"Architectural Experiment"...), so had already decided that my blip would feature reflections and St. Paul's Cathedral (or would at least be an urban blip).

I went to the pond first thing (of course) to take some pictures ("just in case"): the sun was out and the light was beautiful... I went to Mount Pond but wasn't impressed by the behaviour of the Egyptian goose pair that have taken possession of the pond (they're strange), so went to visit Mr. and Mrs. Goose on Eagle Pond. As anticipated, Mrs. Goose is nowhere to be seen (I suspect that she is sitting on a nest: eeee!), but Mr. Goose was being picturesque (and grumpy) as ever. Happy days: happy (backup!) goosey pictures.

When I reached The City later on, the sun was still shining and the sky was brushed with delicate clouds; I thought HDR could lead to something rather fine. I wandered around and took quite a few sets of 5 frames with which to make HDR images. I've spent quite a while making composites out of them, and some are indeed rather nice, BUT (after all that) this one kept jumping out at me. This is just a single frame (not HDR) but it seems intriguing to me: I like the illusory reflections, and the dark city bustle going on in the street (Watling Street) beside the building. I suppose it has just been "one of those days" photographically: sometimes I put a lot of effort into achieving a particular effect that I had in mind when setting out to take photos, but then an unplanned shot proves to be the one I blip. The HDR ones do have more "wow factor" and I enjoyed exploring the reflections of the (otherwise awful) building (and even managed to find some satisfying symmetry amongst all the odd angles).
Oh well - there'll be other days for those (repeatable) shots.

I'm also pleased that I've managed to convince myself to post another blip with people in it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.