Rainy Afternoon

I teach in our local community college in the summers - a course called "Plant ID: Summer Annuals and Perennials". Now you know why I know so much about plants :-)

At any rate, last summer I had to teach remotely, which was painful to say the least. This summer I will again. But this time the college is offering some workshops aimed to help part-time faculty with remote teaching skills. I'm taking one now that's all about engaging students during remote learning. Easier for me, teaching plants, than it would be to teach a huge section of chemistry...or something. At least I think. At any rate, that's what I've been doing. And I get a stipend for taking the course! 

But I escaped this afternoon and picked up my grandchildren and we went to the garden center since it was too rainy for the playground. Of course we bought plants for the fairy garden, and a duck watering can for watering (he wanted three...one of each color...that was a quite the negotiation). Wandering through the shrubs we came across this stunning camellia (which I forgot to get the name of darn it!)! The flowers are huge...probably 5" in diameter. And of course glistening with real raindrops. We had a good time, and a couple of hours went by quickly. Then back home to finish my work for class.

Oh, and I can't believe I forgot to mention that I started the day by getting shot #1 of the vaccine! Absolutely no ill effects or pain or even swelling! Woo hoo!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.