RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Basketball Court Construction

I think I might have been overly influence by the road construction taking place around our apartment when it came to shooting todays photos. When I reviewed the images I took on my bike ride to town and back, easily 75% of shots were of some kind of construction project. The sea-side pathway and basketball court/zocalo has been undergoing a complete renovation for the past few months. It is really starting to take shape and looks about a month away from completion (which I am certain will require another blip or two).

Wide Wednesday was another eye opening experience. Some of the photos were very literal, while others had a more ethereal nature about them. I was a bit surprised by the number of entries that were clearly not “wide”. While many of them were good photos I was hesitant to select them considering the challenge description dictates “... to make a nice wide view of the following themes...”. That being said, these are the images I thought satisfied that intent the best:

Top 5 (Hearts)
Sheol - I liked the way the trees framed the kicker while the goal posts framed the distant goalie, a frame within a frame, very effective in black and white.

Laurie54 - Liked the warm feeling this image evoked and the way the railing created a picture frame effect.

AnnieBelle - The scooter totally makes this photo, it adds some extra color and I like that it is not centered in that huge frame.

pkln - Bicycles are a favorite subject and I like how this photographer has used the one to frame the others.

kipsie - Not a typical frame, but I do like how the feathers set off the birds body while the tight crop fills the frame nicely.

Honorable Mentions (Stars)
Bella888
KeenKen
Beedey
SeriousFrolic

freespiral

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.