Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Framed

Another day late and a dollar short.  I've been trying to stay off of the computer from late afternoon on so if I don't take my blip photo before 3:00 or so it doesn't get posted until the following day.  This is often a problem for me when I'm trying to participate in challenges, especially if the hosts are many hours or even as much as a day ahead of me.  Nevertheless, I keep trying.

RSDphotography is hosting wide Wednesday this month and the theme for this week is 'framing.'  I thought about what I could do all day and kept coming up blank.  Just before sunset, I took a walk down my street.  When I came upon the bridge over the arroyo I thought I could use the poles and houses on either side to 'frame' it.  Needing it to be wide, I set my camera to 16:9 aspect ratio, got down low (which these creaky old bones didn't appreciate) and took a few photos.  As you can see, the sun was beginning to set which ended up giving me some nice warm light, even though I could barely see what I was doing because the sun was blinding me.  I like how it turned out.

Earlier, I had gone out to lunch, sitting outside as usual, and stopped by the bank and post office, then participated in a bird photography Zoom interest group. Across the street neighbor brought me some meatloaf and roasted veggies for dinner, which was awfully nice.

This date was also my 15th anniversary of stepping off an airplane from Maryland to live permanently in Arizona.  I cannot believe it's been that long. All but the last 18 months of that time I spent with my mom, who I still think of everyday and miss terribly.  Somehow, life still goes on.

“Life seems sometimes like nothing more than a series of losses, from beginning to end. That's the given. How you respond to those losses, what you make of what's left, that's the part you have to make up as you go.”
— Katharine Weber

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.