Excellent news in a sad time

The knee injections are working. Right knee (cause for Flora, my new walking stick) is not much worse than it was 3 years ago and left knee is fabulous for my age. Now that I've had another injection on the right, I can put the stick in the closet for six months or so. I am so damn lucky in so many ways. Love coming in and going out. Medical care. Shelter. Food. Books.

Speaking of books, it was my friend Devorah who sent me Undrowned, which I raved about yesterday. No wonder I didn't remember ordering it. She knows me so well, I thought I must have ordered it and then forgotten. We sometimes think each other's thoughts.

The horror of the most recent mass killing is sinking in among all my friends and comrades, along with rage at the white supremacist thinking that underlies it. We are learning to #SayTheirNames: Soon C. (Julie) Park, 74; Suncha Kim, 69; Yong A. Yue, 63; Hyun Jeong Park Grant, 51; Paul Andre Michels, 54; Xiaojie Tan, 49; Daoyou Feng, 44; Delaina Ashley Yaun, 33. A brilliant McSweeney's article by Carlos Greaves offers an "Editorial Template for Every Time a White Person Commits an Atrocious Crime." It's brilliant. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.