East Cluden

As it was the Spring Equinox today, I thought I would visit a stone circle, so visited the Twelve Apostles at Holywood (the largest stone circle on the Scottish mainland, no less). I combined my visit with a walk along the Cluden Water from Newbridge to East Cluden, where there is a magnificent water mill.

The mill was built in 1786 but there were mills here before that time. It was converted to a house in the 1970s (look at that wonderful sitting room!).

Apart from feeling a little tired, I am fine after yesterday's vaccine, for which I feel grateful. Sometimes I sit and ponder about how my immune system is working overtime to raise a response to those 50 billion adenovirus particles presented to it. Amazing that our bodies do this all the time without us even thinking about it...

I also have a wee smile when I see photos of Prof Andrew Pollard of the Oxford Vaccine Group. Back in 1988, I was the only female on the British Jaonli Expedition in the Himalayas (not many people know that!) and Andy Pollard was a young medical student who got to the top of the mountain :-)

Today's walk: Newbridge, East Cluden and 12 Apostles. 2.1 miles. Also a quick stroll before lunch 1.1 miles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.