Time out

After yesterday I wasn't sure what weather it would be but shortly after I got up (a bit late!) it brightened up and so I headed east. Had been wanting to try the Fenton Barns farmshop for a while (turned out smaller than I expected - Gosford Bothy one I went to later was better) and I ended up just with a coffee and a fudge doughnut. Never had one of those before - a Scottish staple - and despite being way too sweet and if possible almost too full of custard I rather enjoyed it as I sat on a bench and chatted to A and showed her the OTT treat. We talked about Ai's plans for getting her a job up here and her birthday plans with her friends, their wedding plans and what she'd be doing today given it was very cloudy down with her.
I headed to Gullane and, with the tide out, I could strike out east along the beach and around the headland. Went on until I got this lovely view right over to the Bass Rock. I was listening all the way to a new book I'd downloaded and had a really lovely time - the wide blue sky, warm sun and as always lots to see in the waves and on the beach and the chance to just sink into the book. I'm enjoying the story although striking how strange it sounds when a detective needs to buy street maps, use dictation machines, and be reliant on a pager and landlines for calls (let alone patiently explaining dial up modems and ways of sharing files!). The world's certainly changed in thirty years!
Walked 7 miles in the end, and my hip was feeling very weak/achey by the end. I realise I'm not doing my exercises regularly enough so had better start up again and be a bit more diligent if I'm going to ever be up for the West Highland Way!
Uncharacteristically (although perhaps not, after that fudge doughnut this morning!) I decided to have a rest on the clifftop and had a 99 cone as I watched the tide coming in and the people and dogs along the beach.  
Stopped off at the Gosford Bothy farm shop and bought some of their own saddleback's sausages and bacon and some leeks as I fancy making the leek pie that was in the paper this morning.
I saw lots of kites at Longniddry and stopped off at the beach there to watch - seemed to be some sort of organised kite surfing event as there were about 20 of them. Rounding off a day of bonkers food I decided to sit and watch with a portion of chips, crabmeat and aioli from the van there and very delicious it was too! Strange light looking west across the water towards the city and the hills at the kites - almost pink clouds.
By then I just wanted to get home and drink some tea and put my feet up so that's what I ended up doing...for most of the rest of the evening in fact. 
For someone who loves company, this very solitary day has been lovely. Maybe as long as I'm near the sea I'm fine...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.