Census

I filled in our census form on line this morning. An interesting exercise, and I wonder how they are going to use some of the information they gathered it did seem rather obscure! It was a very easy form to fill in, although it was difficult to remember whether I passed one A level or two?
Very different is this copy of the 1901 census. In those days a kind gentleman knocked at your door and helped you to fill it in. This one gives the details of my paternal great grandparents. My grandfather had already left home by this time. It is so good to be able to call up these old census forms when researching family history. This section of my family were mostly agricultural labourers from the Westerham area of Kent and I have traced them back into the mid 1700s. I did it ten years ago, and I guess I should get back to it as I believe there is a lot more recorded now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.