It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

A Wee Paddle

I was grumpy this morning. I was having a 'lockdown' weekend in which my favourite phrase was "I hate living in the city". I kinda do... I'm absolutely fed up with people being everywhere, even if I go out for my walk at 7am. 

There's the 'entitled' me that resents more people being at the beach, so many walkers on the cycle path that I choose to use the road now and my biggest hate, the idiots who choose to park their cars on the pavement. Then there's the rational, companionate and considerate me who realises that most people are nice too & that I've no more right to be where I am than anyone else. But it still breeds anxiety. I sometimes have to force myself out for a run or cycle. I don't get the same 'peace' inside my head when I do. I worry that I'll mistime passing a pedestrian or that my 'chimp' emerges and I get angry at some inconsiderate or unthinking clown. I'm sure lots of  other people feel the same. We are living in a pretty rubbish world at the moment. I dream of being somewhere more simple where I can see people sometimes but escape from them at others. 

My run was OK this morning and I managed nearly 10-km. My legs were tired though as I've upped my mileage lately. The afternoon was better. The only place for some peace is at sea and we got the kayak out for the 1st time this year. It's an inflatable one and it was quite windy, making steering and progress tough. My arms hurt now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.