Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Thank You Volunteers

What would we do without volunteers and good meaning citizens?  This label was on a couple of bags stacked neatly next to a rubbish bin on the pavement.  I know there are a few people who regularly go around picking up litter on the estate, but it was the first time I'd realised that they had this formal arrangement with the Council to leave the waste for collection.

For me it was a trip down memory lane, replacing the worn grips on my set of golf clubs with new ones recently bought.  I learnt how to do this 40 years ago, working in the professional's shop at Walmley Golf Club.  It was just as I remembered, except the solvent used to allow you to slide the grip onto the shaft over the double sided tape is less smelly these days (we used to use petrol in the old days!).

After that it was into the garden for some more tidying and preparation for the growing season.  The lawn had it's first cut and I transplanted a load of self set foxgloves into a recently cleared area of the border.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.