JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 80: Patching

More mending today, this time patching P's loved but thinning nightshirt with pieces cut from a similar but even more decrepit one. My trusty little sewing machine was my 21st birthday gift from my parents in 1981. They told me it should be a good, solid one and hoped it might last me a lifetime. It's well on the way, though these days I mostly use it for mending rather than anything more creative. I enjoyed the patching. It wasn't a very neat job, but I find it quietly absorbing, and it's satisfying to rescue something which can now be used for a bit longer. 

I was sorry I didn't manage to get out for a walk, though the flat, grey light was not very tempting. However, it's not been a bad day: laundry all dried outside again, two more trays of garlic planted in small pots, to be moved into the garden when it's a bit drier, a bit of cleaning and tidying... I also helped J search for photos for a collage project she is devising for the thirtieth birthday of her oldest friend, who she met when they both started school aged three. It was a good excuse to search through poorly named folders on old hard drives, where we found all kinds of joyful, funny and poignant memories. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.