Monday's painting...

...

My digital painting in Procreate for today.
I was remembering how I used to play on the Yorkshire moors. 
When I was a small child my playground was often Sherwood Forest with my dog Sandy. But when I was older, Sandy had gone (shot by a neighbouring farmer who didn't like him), my playground was more the Yorkshire Moors. 
And yes, I was barefoot. I liked the feel of the ground under my bare feet. And, I would wade barefoot up the stream, under my bridge (which you can see in the distance), into the hills and find the source of the stream bubbling out of a bog. And I would drink that water...

Many years later, when I could drive, I tried to find my bridge, but it was on a main road and was falling apart all those years ago, so it would have been rebuilt.

Over the years I have drawn/painted/sketched this scene. Sometimes I am in it, sometimes I am in a cave, but always the stone bridge and the brackish coloured tumbling water and the lone hawthorn tree....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.