Here's Toby!

Big day today!!
We checked out of the hotel at 10.15, after a nice breakfast in our room.
15 minutes later we arrived at the address of Toby. When we drove by we saw him sitting in the windowsill, as if he was waiting for us.

Bas and Daan stayed at the car and Annemarie and I went to the door. We were greeted enthusiastically and for 30 minutes we talked with the owners. Meanwhile Toby did not leave my side! (I think the dogcookies I had in my pocket did the trick!) 
After the 30 minutes it was time to go, and some hard moments for the owners started. I noticed they suddenly got in a bit of hurry, undoubtedly to get it over with as soon as possible. Emotional stuff. A final hug by the lady of the house and their eldest daughter. Toby was just happy to see his leash..
His boss walked with us, carrying his dog bed, and other inventory. Once at the car, Toby jumped right in. When I closed the trunk, I saw the now former owner had it difficult. "Take good care of him", he said and turned around and walked away. Understandable. Very.
That was it. Toby was ours now.
We drove off and within 5 minutes Toby curled in his bed and went to sleep. We drove for an hour and half and stopped for a walk near Nijmegen, the Mookerheide.
Wow, this dog has energy!! He wanted to run and run. Bas and Daan couldn't keep up with him. Great fun, but I noticed that Toby considered himself to be the leader. That has to change very soon.
We walked for over an hour and after that we drove on. Heading north!
Toby slept the entire route and at 16.30 we arrived home.

Toby had to sniff and explore every corner of course. We walked with him for another hour and after that he became more and more relaxed. He kept asking for cuddles over and over again. Finally he fell in a deep sleep next to me on the couch.

A final walk around 22.30 hours and after that I put him in his new bedroom (my home-office), said goodnight and closed the door behind me.
He accepted it totally and went to sleep right away. Not a single bark or howl. Annemarie and I stayed in the living room for a while, just to be sure all was silent and well. It was!
What a super dog so far!!

As for the leadership..... that's been settled already.
He tried to 'ride me/my legs' a few time, to establish his dominance, but I made clear that wasn't the case. He then went on his back, legs up, in front of me. I won, the pick order is now clear. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.