Church of St Mary the Virgin, Whickham

I have felt much better today.  Did some household chores this morning.  This afternoon I headed down to the village for shopping - and to get my blip shot. 

The Mono Monday theme today is Architectural Glimpses  hosted by  PelorusJack. My blip shows the bell tower of St Marys Church. The door leads up to the  ringing chamber.  I've been up there once - many years ago.  When I was a teenager my next door neighbour was a bell ringer and he invited me to bell ringing practice one evening. It was fascinating to watch the ringers in action. In those days I lived quite near the church and it was lovely to hear the bells ringing on Saturdays for weddings and Sundays for church services.  The Norman church has a 12th century nave and 13th century aisles. The porch and tower were added in the 14th century.

Musical link - RING MY BELLS by  Enrique Iglesias

The weather today was really Spring - like.  Lots of sunshine and fairly warm.  Very enjoyable to be outdoors.

Steps today - 8,093

CORONA CLASSIC - THE BELLS - Rachmaninov

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.