DailyNutshell

By DailyNutshell

Now That's An Antenna

This is the Hilton Milwaukee City Center. A television tower, I believe it is, stands atop this 25-story building and more than doubles its height (from 84 to 192 meters). Over the years, it has been used by various Milwaukee television and radio stations. I'm not sure if it still is, but let's say yes.

I rode my bike this evening and took some streets that I had yet to be on. Along the way, it became evident that my neighborhood and the one adjacent really are a considerable and sharp elevation above the river that separates us from downtown. My legs are testifying to that after having not ridden in months.

At the end of October, we visited to look at houses and get a feel for the city. We stayed in this hotel. It is a gilded sort of place, built in the late 1920s, and it maintains much of the era's golden glitter. It has been kept up and periodically modernized, and many old touches are still present from different decades. Chandeliers, intricate tile floors, glistening detailed wallpaper, mail chutes throughout. It's worth an image search online, and it was a great place to stay, even in the time of covid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.