Things To Make And Do

By Ruthsowandsew

23/3/2021

Today's allotment job was to dig up the Jerusalem artichokes. The great thing about these is that they can produce a crop with virtually no effort but they are also invasive, so I grow them in a bed surrounded by paths and sheeted down areas to help prevent them escaping, and also try to clear them completely every other year and just replant a couple of tubers. This time last year, though, my wrist was in plaster as I broke it just before the first lockdown, so I didn't get round to clearing the bed, and this time after three years there were absolutely loads, rapidly heading to the bed's edges and probably thinking about doing a Steve McQueen. 

These are just a fraction of what came up, roasted to put in the freezer. I've also made soup and have some set aside to make an artichoke and potato gratin at the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.