Countdown

3
As I vacuumed dust off the skirting boards of the house I left 10 months ago which, at very long last, is due to belong to someone else on Friday, I remembered sitting on the floor in 1992 when I moved in with bucket after bucket of soapy hot water cleaning the thick grime off the skirting boards. Back then there was no obligation to leave a house clean for the next person. It had been lived in by an elderly widower who had let out rooms and it was clear that none of the inhabitants had any acquaintance with housework. At least it's a much easier task this time, even though some of the dust has been in the eaves for an embarrassingly long time. I cleaned some windows too, which might possibly be going a bit far. Still, I won't be doing that where I live until after it's been rebuilt so I guess a little practice isn't a bad thing.

In much more exciting news, I think I've got someone to help me with the apple tree grafting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.