The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Loveliest of trees

I can't let a year go by without a cherry blossom blip. This beautiful specimen is outside Stroud's Baptist church.

A tough morning at nursery. When I finished, I ate a sandwich in the grounds, where building work is progressing, then walked home through town. Managed to read the two short stories in time for my last class of the term, and enjoyed the discussion online. Jane Gardam's story, Tribute, is priceless, dealing with some horrible ageing ex-Colonials in England, some down at heel but still feeling superior to a trusted former nanny, whom, it turns out, was never paid by any of them.

Afterwards, I tried to watch the news and ran out of time because my next Zoom was starting: the first meeting of the new WEA women's online branch. We had a inspirational speaker in the form of Rehanna Mohammed, who has been awarded an MBE for her services to community groups.

Then, supper ( fish stew again) and finally, the news. It's a year today since the UK went into lockdown no.1, and we've had many sombre reminders on TV. I missed the 12 noon silence, because we were at nursery lunch, and the 8pm 'shine a light' in the street because of the online meeting. Still, I'm.in no danger of forgetting those that have died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.