Blackbird Chicks

Ruby and Eric were here today but the stars of the show has to be the Blackbird Chicks.
As I said a few days ago I was sure they had hatched. I hadn't heard anything but the happy couple were in and out with worms and bugs almost continuously.
Had a look while Eric and Ruby were playing in the garden and there they are, three that I could make out, beaks sticking up in the air but one with it's head a little higher so you could see it's little face.
Always amazes me that by the time they leave the nest and start fluttering around the garden they are almost the size of the adults, mostly recognisable because of the shorter tail feathers.
Looking forward to them coming out, and I'll be watching out for Magpies and cats. Jonty wouldn't bother with them, he only barks at them if they are in the bushes and he doesn't know what they are. 
He was barking at the bushes last night but I'm sure it was one of the hedgehogs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.