Lockdown No3 - Day 79

Walked past these Magnolia flowers this afternoon, looking good against that glorious blue sky (couldn’t decide which pic I preferred).

The blue sky was the best part of my day...

Complete mix up with my dad's meds today, so had to visit the pharmacy to sort out the mess. Even then the prescription had the wrong dosage on it. Luckily I spotted the pharmacist's mistake before dad took the first dose!

Came home from the pharmacy to a very long email from a certain high street store (not Thin Face, but...) informing me that they had had a security breach back on 17 January (two months ago!) and that my personal data had been involved in the incident:
- My first name and surname.
- My email address.
- My address details.
- Partial payment card information by way of the last 4 digits and expiry date.

I've spent hours changing passwords and trying to find out what's going on. My initial searches on the internet lead me to posts that said that the email in itself was a fraud and the helpline phone number in the email was fraudulent. But there are posts aplenty on Facebook that indicate that the security breach and email are genuine, but no direct statement from the company, or direct response/clarification to people's posts, just messages asking people to message the company directly. In order to clarify the matter I checked out the company's website and guess what, they've temporarily closed the phone lines! No doubt to avoid phone calls from irate customers!! This data breach happened two months ago so who knows what the criminals have been up to with my personal data, and that of thousands of customers!!! I sent an email to the company using the email address on their website rather than the address in the email (in case it is a scam), and guess what, no reply, just an automated message saying they'll reply within 72 hours. 

What a can of worms! I don't really know where to start to sort out this mess. Think I'll just have to wait and hope that I get a response to my email tomorrow. And talking of tomorrow, it just has to be a better day...

Take care, stay safe and well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.