Going, Going...

Gentrification in Canning Town. Stopping at the snack stand in Bidder Street I was chatting to Sue, who was helping out while K had gone off on other duties (see extra). 

I explained that I was trying to find the old Canning Town such as the market. She waxed lyrical about what a good market it was - she used to work on a stall there. But it has been redeveloped and the character has all gone. I turned round to look at the scrap yard opposite and could see what she meant. The tide of gentrification is approaching. Rolling in over the workshops and warehouses.

Mind you, Bidder Street is a bit of an intimidating place. Not sure I would want to walk up there on a dark night. 

This photo wouldn't score highly at the Photo Society competition night. The processing has produced halo lines along some of the edges. Oh well, back to the drawing board.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.