Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Back To The Drawing Board

I got the drawing board out tonight and the oil pastels. I logged into a Zoom meeting run by a local group, EVAN (Eden Valley Artistic Network), to watch a demonstration: How to: Trees in Pastel with Alex Jakob-Whitworth.


She had an international audience and we could either just listen or draw along as she gave use ideas. Don't laugh at my odd colours, I've never used oil pastels before. I bought them when I was in 6th form but immediately favoured the chalky sort. That was the sort I couldn't find today! Or the sugar paper!


One of the things I found interesting was use of the negative affect of drawing something by leaving the shape blank and colouring the space around it. (The black tree silhouettes on the horizon.)


It was refreshing to sit and draw for an hour, something I haven't done for many years. A pastel class I was due to attend last year was cancelled due to Covid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.