Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Floating on air

Yesterday evening I walked outside to take the dog for a short walk and above my head were turkey vultures.   Not one or two but probably as many as 50!    I wondered what in the world was dead in the woods behind my house...or somewhere close... for that many to converge in one space.  I have seen flocks of 8 or 10 before along a road where something was food but never this many at one place.    Vultures  or turkey buzzards as we call them here in the south are one of my favorite birds to watch flying as they mostly float on the air currents.    

The dog was a little rattled as she heard them all when they were landing in the trees behind the house to roost for the night.   Her hair stood up on her back!    Yes, kind of creepy!

This morning the first thing I did when it got light enough to see was to look out from the back porch to see if they were still there.   They were!  Some were flying but there were some still roosting.  So I had to get the camera as the sky had a different look with some rain clouds.

I have a feeling  food for them might be a deer that got hit with a car but was able to run into the woods.   We have only seen 3 or 4 of the deer herd in our yard in the last couple of days.  

So how many people besides me think about the Hitchcock movie "The Birds" when you see this many birds flying overhead?!!!!

Yesterday after having lunch with my classmates we heard that another classmate had passed unexpectedly.  She lived in a different area of South Carolina so I did not see her often but we did stay in touch on Facebook.  One of the friends with me yesterday was a close friend in high school so it was a very big shock to us that we had not heard she was so sick (non-Covid). Nancy was very heartbroken.      So we were all so thankful that we have decided to start with these monthly lunch dates to be with people we know and love.   

Everyone needs to get back to being with the ones you love in spite of the government, the medical community and your own fear.   What ifs happen and then you will be beating yourself over the head for not making the choice to see your mom, dad, kids and grandkids and anyone else that is someone you hold dear in your heart.    I have been seeing everyone close by who are immediate family the whole past year.  I have seen others. traveled among strangers and eating in restaurants. I will continue to be around people that are special to me. Life IS to short to sit and wait for someone else to say it is okay to see your family.   

Tomorrow I have a photo shoot to do for the annual Clay Shooting fundraiser that is sponsored by my former work place.   It was cancelled last year but because it is outdoors they decided to hold the event this year.      I will be there with my camera, unmasked, recording the event for them.   

Sorry for the rant!     Have a good weekend people!   Hug those you love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.