DDW

By DDW

Pet Peeve (One of Many)

I really hope I'm not the only one who finds this current fad of displaying books on shelves with their spines facing inward incredibly irritating.

Pretty much every home remodeling show I see on TV these days eagerly shows this stupid affectation in the "reveal" at the end of the program, and I just scratch my head and wonder why this "look" is so popular.  To me it just says "we don't read", "we can't think of anything else to fill up all this shelf space", and "we don't want anything colourful to distract from our studied, monochromatic, characterless interior."  Why don't they just pile rolls of toilet paper there,  or stacks of paper napkins, or reams of printer paper?

Humph.  Rant over, and yes, I did turn all those books back around so that I can see what their titles are once this photo was taken!

Here's a link to what I'm ranting on about for those of you who have, up until now, been spared this abomination!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.