Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Lakey Peterson and aerials on the shore breaks

I took the hounds to Dixon park for exercise this morning and walked over to the edge of bathers way to see if there were any of the pros out and above.   There were but I didn't want to leave the hounds in the car (they are not allowed on the beach which is where I wanted to be) and so I dropped them off home and came back.

The main I am pretty sure is Lakey Peterson from USA (5th woman's ranking).  She was surfing with two mates but I couldn't identify them.  They were good too.

The first extra I think is Jordy Smith, a South African, also ranked 5th in the mens.  He and a mate were doing some aerials.  To explain part of what the photographers role is I have put in the second extra.   He had two togs in the water with him and his mate.

The last extra is a grommet getting some air.   A pro of the future in the making.

I am glad I have had some time to see them in action as I have missed out on the tickets to the main event.  With Covid restrictions, they are closing the area off and limiting the public to 3,000 people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.